Robben Ford & The Ford Blues Band


1. Lovin' Cup
2. Look Whatcha Done
3. Another Kind Of Love
4. Hell & Purgatory
5. I Have My Doubts
6. Pick Up The Phone
7. Zip It Up
8. You've Got The Torch (For Lisa)
9. Bring It To Jerome
10. Big Band
11. Somebody Help Me
12. Watch Yourself
13. Daydreamin'

The year is 1999, the end of a century, the end of a millennium. It is a time to remember and honor the past, and a time to look to the future. The band is Robben Ford & The Ford Blues Band, deeply rooted in the music of the blues masters and yet always on the edge, always looking for new ways to express themselves musically.

With their new CD, "1999", Robben Ford & The Ford Blues Band vives honor to the past with several cover songs, including "Look Whatcha Done" by Magic Sam, "Bring It To Jerome" by Bo Diddley, and "Lovin' Cup" by Paul Butterfield. Along with these covers are many originals, including one track featuring Robben Ford on guitar and vocal.

This is the seventh release by Robben Ford & The Ford Blues Band (including their album recorded with Luther Tucker shortly before his death) and it continues the tradition of hard-driving, imaginative, modern blues music. Andy Just (harp) is joined by guitarist Volker Strifler up front, while Dewayne Pate (bass) and Patrick Ford (drums) remain the driving force of the band.

What Pepole Are Saying . . .

The Robben Ford & The Ford Blues Band as been praised by the likes of Charlie Musselwhite, Lowell Fulson, Fenton Robinson, and Jimmy Witherspoon for their creative and heart-felt approach to the blues idiom. Reviews of their last CD, "Fords & Friends", include comments like:

"Catchy enough to be a hit on mainstream blues radio programs."
- Blues Access

"It's finely crafted, well produced, exciting and impressive throughout."
- Real Blues

"Strong music with a message."
- Music City Blues


©Blue Rock'It Records 2001--2007