John Campbell

A Man And His Blues

John Campbell A Man and his Blues

1. Going To Dallas
2. Bad Night Blues
3. Judgement Day
4. BlueBird
5. Deep River Rag
6. Texas Country Boy
7. Sittin' Here Thinkin'
8. Sunnyland Train
9. White Lightnin'

Had you gone looking for the blues at the 1986 Mississippi Delta Blues Festival, you might have been surprised to find that one of the most popular performers was a rather unknown guitar player from Texas, John Campbell . . . A few year ago, John Campbell moved to New York City, doing opening shows for Hubert Sumlin, Jimmie Rogers, and others. One night he was working with John Littlejohn when Ronnie Earl came in. They had met before, down in Louisiana. The two of them ended up on the back steps of the club, playing acoustic guitar all night long, passing the guitar back and forth, talking about Lightnin' Hopkins, and playing their favorite things for each other. That particular night Ronnie decided to produce an album . . . you have the results before you now. The Blues from where he grew up, the blues from the South, flavored with a hot shot of hard
driving beat abd urban heat, that's John Campbell; in other words, A Man And His Blues

©Blue Rock'It Records 2001--2007